Parasha Emor
Leviticus 21:1-24 :23

Parasha Emor continues the Holiness Code with specific restrictions for the Kohanim (the priests) and the Kohan Gadol (the High Priest) pertaining to marriage, sexuality and mourning. This parasha sets forth the “fixed times” for observance of certain holy days with the establishment of Shabbat, Pesach, the counting of the omer, Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur and Sukkot. We also learn about the kindling of the lamps for the Tent of Meeting and the proper placement of the twelve loaves of bread to be offered on Shabbat. The parasha closes with a brief narrative about the punishment for blasphemy (death by stoning).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s